Employers In Maine Will Soon Be Required to Provide Paid Leave
September 23, 2020
Beginning on January 1, 2021, private employers with more than 10 employees in Maine must provide 1 hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours of paid leave per year. Employees begin to earn leave upon hire, but employers may restrict the use of leave until an employee has been employed for 120 days. Employers may front-load the 40 hours of leave at the beginning of a calendar year or on an employee’s anniversary date as long as the employee receives no less earned paid leave than he or she would have earned under an accrual method. Employees may roll over any unused leave, but employers can cap the total number of hours at 40 per year.We recommend all employers have SESCO review their Employee Handbook annually to ensure compliance with all federal and state laws.